Fixtures avoid wet conditions

There was just one session of bowls last weekend in the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling Club and thankfully for all those concerned it took place on a dry but breezy Sunday rather than 24 hours earlier when it was extremely wet.
Three of the participating teams improved their averages, but even though RBM moved to within 40 points of third place, theirs fell slightly and I feel with just four fixtures remaining they will have to settle for fourth position.
Erin Porters were RBMs first opponents and they missed out by just two points; Parkers meanwhile remain squeezed in between those two in fifth spot and overcame Bits n Bobs by a margin of 17.
Porters then recorded the highest score of the day, notching up an 80 points to 65 victory over Bits n Bobs and to conclude the action, Parkers just fell short as RBM had another close win, so all stay as they were in the table.

As the club moves into the last two months of the season this seems an appropriate time to feature the leading 20 players in the battles for the Derek Killey memorial trophy, awarded to the individual merit winner and Geoff Osborn trophy for the top woman competitor.
Out in front for the main honours, are Jordan Cain (Seven-Up) and Glynn Hargraves (Incredabowls), both with maximum points; leading lady is Margaret Tasker (Louie’s Angels) in third spot, just ahead of team-mate Tricia Bull who is fifth.
There are four junior members competing this winter and heading this section is Stefan Kelly (Incredabowls) holding onto 39th overall.

An entry of 34 took part in the midweek round robin and black jack triples winners were decided after a roll-up which went in favour of Bernie McPhee, Derek Allen and Derek Cadamy, just missing out were Edwina Reid, Voirrey Curphey and Alan Cromwell, and in third it was Peter Hughes, Doug Allan and Alec Taylor.
Viv Rush and Les Halsall led home the doubles section, with second going to Louis and Rita Callister. A roll-up also took place in this group as third spot went to Philippa Taylor and Derek Anscomb.