The Barbara Lee Trophy

There was a disappointing entry of 24 for the IOM Merit, for the Barbara Lee trophy, held at Port Erin on Sunday 9 August. However the weather stayed fair ensuring an enjoyable afternoon for bowling.

Quarter-finals: Debbie Leece 21, Elaine Moore 19; Lyn Bolton 21, Caroline Whitehead 11; Mary Alderson 21, Phil Dobson 13; Paula Firth 21, Lynda Cadamy 13

Semi-finals: Lyn Bolton 21, Debbie Leece 7; Paula Firth 21, Mary Alderson 12

Lyn had been gaining momentum throughout the afternoon and Paula could not stay with her in the final, although she did show some resistance when Lyn reached 20-4, winning the next three ends, but it was too little too late as Lyn ran out the 21-8 winner.

The presentation was made by Association president, Pat Robertson, who congratulated the players and thanked Port Erin for the use of their facilities. She also thanked all those who had helped in any way with the smooth running of the afternoon, in particular the two gentlemen who had a very busy afternoon manning the measures.