Moore is three-time champion

Twice former winner, Alan Moore was triumphant again in the delayed Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling club championship, which took place on Sunday, beating Phil Kerruish who himself had won the title back in 2005.

A 24 hour delay due to the weather didn’t deter most of those who had entered and from the 38 who competed on the day, two former champions fought out a closely contested final, having earlier seen a number of potential winners go out in their opening games.

Kerruish began his afternoon with victory in the prelims, before a repeat of the 2005 final against Margaret Tasker saw him through to the second round, where he was pushed all the way in a 21-20 result by Cliff Clague.

Moore meanwhile, got through his opening encounter by just three chalks, before a repeat of the 2017 final when he defeated Frank Watson.

The only junior member in the competition, Shannon McMullan, was successful in her first game, before losing out on 19 in her second to Derek Allen, who then went down in the quarters 21-20 to Kerruish.

Also missing out at this stage were Steve Parker, beaten to 19 by Edward Carlyle; Tony Hart who fell short on a score of 18 against Reg Temporaza and Tricia Bull, the last lady entrant who went out to the eventual winner.

The four semi-finalists who had endured a tough afternoon in the cold wind, took to the green in front of a dwindling crowd of spectators, Kerruish knocking out Carlyle and Temporaza losing to Moore, both results 21-12.

The final had no more than two points between the opponents at any point of the game, then at 16 across Kerruish took the next two ends to lead 19-16, but Moore fought back with three singles and a double to take the title he had won previously in 2016 and 2017.

Moore remains as only the third player to have won this honour more than once, following Kevin Quirk on five titles and John Kennish on four; keeping it at only nine different winners over 18 seasons.

Results – quarter-finals: Edward Carlyle 21, Steve Parker 19; Phil Kerruish 21, Derek Allen 20; Tony Hart 18, Reg Temporaza 21; Tricia Bull 12, Alan Moore 21. Semi-finals: Carlyle 12, Kerruish 21; Temporaza 12, Moore 21. Final: Kerruish 19, Moore 21.

Just a few days earlier the midweek round robin had a relatively small gang of 25 split into two sections, with the trio of Kevin Firth, Mark Kelly and Tricia Bull romping to victory ahead of Sefton Dent, Dougie Allan and Jeff Wilson. 

Things were closer in the doubles group with the eventual winners being Ken Karran and Maureen Payne, with second spot going to Peter Karran and Peter Kelly.

This weekend will see the final two days of the winter season, beginning with a round robin on Saturday, followed 24 hours later by the Best versus Rest event and prize presentations for which raffle prizes would be very much appreciated.

Proceedings begin at 1pm and taking part in Sunday’s contest will be league champions, Outsiders, supported by double merit winner, Helen Martin; junior merit champ, Austin Hart and newly crowned club champion, Alan Moore who will make up the Best team.

The individual team merit winners, or representatives, will form the Rest and turning out for the challengers will be Steve Parker (Mooragh Lakers); Mark Kelly (Seven-Up); Stefan Kelly (A-Team); Matthew Keggen (Louie’s Angels); Terry Moore or Colin Spence (Parkers); Derek Allen (Erin Porters); Bryan Corner (Govags); Lil Smith (Bowl Rollers); Sam Aherne or Nathan Hamilton (Castletown Corkers); Alan Phair (Castletown Cannons) and Franz ten-Donkelaar (Bits n Bobs).

League prizes will be awarded down to fifth position; from the quarter-finals onwards in the club championship and the finalists in the J&M Lee memorial doubles, which was held back in December, so if those concerned can be in attendance to collect their awards it would be very helpful.