Bradford is club champion

An entry of 35 battled for the honour of club champion in the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling Club on Saturday and it was David ‘Drof’ Bradford who emerged as the winner to add to his merit success in the 2005-06 season.

Sadly once again the mood around the green was a little subdued as news spread of the sudden death of popular Onchan and Parkers member, Peter Kniveton – perhaps it was a fitting tribute that a summer club-mate should be triumphant on the day.

Peter was in action for his team the previous Sunday and was about to embark on a holiday just a couple of weeks after celebrating his 80th birthday.

A familiar face around the Island greens, he will be missed, especially at the Onchan club. Our thoughts and sympathies go to his wife Jan and family.

The action got underway at 12 noon to help get the event completed in one day and there were some exciting encounters during the opening rounds all ending with only the seventh different winner from 14 championships.

One team dominated the quarter-finals line-up with six members of league winning outfit, Rule Breakers, being joined by five time champion Kevin Quirk (Seven Up) and newly crowned ladies merit winner, Jenny Moore (Mooragh Lakers).

Fallers at this stage were Elaine Moore, Quirk, Stefan Kelly and Glynn Hargraves, who had earlier put paid to a fourth straight title for team-mate John Kennish.

Just three points in favour of Dave ‘Dido’ Kelly separated him in victory over Alan Moore, while a first class exhibition of corner bowling saw Bradford ease home to see brother and sister eliminated in the semi finals.

Playing off six just like the league fixtures this season for the first time, it was first blood to Kelly, but then both players had runs of four ends apiece to share the 24 points on the card.

Dido, playing with a set of woods for the first time, struggled to make his two’s and even though having won more ends trailed by one after the fifteenth.

The new champion then moved into top gear and led 20-15 before a measure couldn’t separate either player’s woods, however this only delayed the outcome as Drof headed back to the corner and emerged as a worthy winner 21-15.

This Sunday will be the club’s prize presentations, preceded as always by the traditional best versus rest event starting at 1pm. The best will be made up from league winners Rule Breakers, the ladies merit winner and one player from second placed Seven Up.

Their opponents will feature Jordan Cain or Kevin Quirk (Seven Up), Nigel Thomas (Bowling for Soup), James Teare (Mooragh Lakers), Margy Tasker (Louie’s Angels), Dave Faragher (Castletown Corkers, merit winner Sid Bolton unavailable), Mike Thomas (Parkers), Lil Smith (Roller Bowlers), Caroline Whitehead (Erin Porters, Bernard Thackrah not available), Connie Pettegrew (Govags), Kim Hargraves (Bits n Bobs) and for Castletown Cannons it will be Barbara Young replacing Peter Curtis.

The day before will be the final round robin session of the campaign as it has been decided that the club will close down at the end of proceedings on Sunday 22 March (providing the day’s event goes ahead).

Two other round robins to bring news on; firstly amidweek session held recently drew an entry of 33 which was played in two groups of triples, the winners being Louis Callister, Shirley Corrin and Lynda Cadamy, along with Bernard Thackrah, Viv Rush and Les Halsall.

Missing out in second were Allan Kennaugh, Peter Karran and Tricia Bull, and after a roll-up, Philippa Taylor, Elaine McElroy and Jean Thackrah.

Sunday had a smaller gang take part in a session of triples and doubles, which had the threesome of Derek Cadamy, Ken Karran and Alan Moore beat Lynda Cadamy, MargyTasker and Peter Karran.

This while the pairing of Philippa Taylor and Gordon Corrin just pipped Lil Smith and Jenny Moore.