Winter Club finale

The wet and extremely cold climate endured over recent weeks in the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling Club were a distant memory as everyone enjoyed almost perfect weather at the final two events over the weekend.

One of those was the prize presentation afternoon, during which the annual Best versus Rest session opened proceedings and resulted in a comfortable victory for the Best outfit.

They were made-up with members of league winners, Jacks Off, plus the overall and ladies merit winners, along with a player from runners-up, Mooragh Lakers; their opponents were the merit winners or representatives from the remaining 11 teams.

It was unusual to have all 12-merit winners competing for the teams and representatives who filled in for the two who were promoted due to winning their merit titles supported them.

One slight difference from the league matches; was that games were played off scratch, rather than 21 up off six.

Scores (Best first, Jacks Off unless stated): Jordan Cain (Seven-Up, overall merit winner) 21, Doug Allan (Govags) 12; Alan Moore 21, Mark Kelly (Seven-Up representative) 20; Kim Hargraves 16, Frank Watson (Outsiders) 21; Glynn Hargraves 21, Gordon Corrin (Bowl Rollers) 11; James Teare (League runners-up, Mooragh Lakers) 21, Tracy Moore (Castletown Corkers) 16; Dido Kelly 21, Paul Bailey (Parkers) 6; Matthew Keggen 21, Tricia Bull (Louie’s Angels) 14; Stefan Kelly 14, Wayne Roberts (Erin Porters) 21; Elaine Moore 21, George Peach (Castletown Cannons) 9; Janet Monk (Mooragh Lakers, ladies merit winner) 18, Jenny Moore (Lakers representative) 21; Austin Hart 21, Geoff Mayles (Bits n Bobs) 13. Best 216 (8), Rest 164 (3).

The presentations followed and began with the team merit winners, all as listed in the results; next up was overall merit winner Matthew Keggen, who collected the Derek Killey memorial cup; Janet Monk(ladies merit) won the Geoff Osborn memorial trophy and Austin Hart (Jacks Off) took the junior merit title.

The team honours followed, and they included Angels (fifth), Seven-Up (fourth), Outsiders (third), Lakers (runners-up) and victors Jacks Off. Last but not least the club champion, Jordan Cain collected his award, with the runners-up spot in this competition going to Alan Moore.

The latest two round robins held saw Steve Parker and Kevin Firth top their group ahead of Mark and Peter Kelly; while in a second gang the winners were Bernie McPhee and Tricia Bull, with second going to Derek Cadamy and Lil Smith.

Peter Hughes and Jo Smith won a session held on Saturday, with Steve Parker and Derek Allen in second spot.

At the conclusion of the season thanks are expressed to Douglas Corporation staff who did a great job with the green; also anyone who helped in any way and especially those who contributed to Sunday’s refreshments and raffle.

Finally as mentioned some time ago the club would appreciate the return of a measure, which went missing from a session at Nobles No. 3 green.