Teare & Skelly Win Heywood Gelling Trophy

Marown hosted their second open of the bank holiday weekend with 32 pairs taking part in the Heywood Gelling Trophy on Sunday on a scorcher of a day with the green quicker than it was on Friday.

At the end of the competition it was Noble’s/Port St Mary pairing of Rebecca Teare and Paul Skelly, who beat the Noble’s/South Ramsey duo of Paula Firth and Sid Bolton by the closest of margins 21-20. The final started with Firth/Bolton taking a 11-6 lead, then 14-9 and extending this further still to 19-13. At 20-16 it looked like it wasn’t going to be Teare/Skelly’s day however they fought back well from lying game down on more than occasion to take a single, a three with Teare playing a great second bowl under pressure at 20-20 to beat Firth’s bowl which Bolton was unable to beat to give the victory to Teare & Skelly. This win qualifies the winners to play in the UK later in the season.

Both semis were well contested with another Noble’s/South Ramsey pairing of Clare Cooper & Lee Dawson losing out 19-21 to Firth and Bolton, whilst in the other semi a new partnership of Pat Mason (Ballaugh) and Andy Kennish (Peel) almost made it to the final only for Skelly to play a couple of great bowls after earlier fearing for his safety from his partner Teare when lying two up for game he inadvertently flicked the jack to end up two down at a crucial point of the game. His relief was clear for all to see at the end of the game after helping secure a 21-19 win to reach the final.

Losing out in the quarter finals were South Ramsey pair Jenny Moore & James Teare, another new partnership from Onchan Caroline Corlett & Les McClellan, Joyce Ogden (Marown) & Wayne Roberts (Port St Mary) along with Sue Gawne (Onchan) & Brian Kelly (Marown).

At the conclusion of the competition the presentation was made by competition secretary Philip Kelly, who thanked the club members who had helped with the running of the competition and the Marown Ladies for the refreshments provided. Marown President Lil Smith was then introduced to present the prizes.