Rollers back on track

There was just one set of fixtures over the weekend in the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter Bowling League and it was Bowl Rollers who came away with the best haul of points, dropping just six from their possible total.

First up they took on Louie’s Angels and with just one win of their last six outings they were aiming to get back on track.

A total of 124 were just what they needed from a clash that had four losers on 20, two for each team, in a nine point winning gap.

Erin Porters also won their opener by the same margin, after they were pushed all the way by Castletown Corkers, who are three places behind them in the table.

Next up Porters couldn’t carry their winning form forward when Angels defeated them to stretch the advantage between the pair who occupy fifth and sixth positions.

Last fixture saw Rollers keep their good form going when they dropped just four chalks against Corkers who matched their 101 total from earlier.

All four sides improved their averages, however there were no positional changes in the league table.

Results for Saturday, November 25: Louie’s Angels 115 (2), Bowl Rollers 124 (4); Castletown Corkers 101 (3), Erin Porters 110 (3); Erin Porters 94 (2), Louie’s Angels 112 (4); Bowl Rollers 122 (4), Castletown Corkers 101 (2).

Just four players remain unbeaten at this stage of the season and at the head of the quartet with the least points against is Philippa Taylor (Seven-Up).

Next come Stefan Kelly (Jacks Off), Steve Crampton (Seven-Up) and Stuart Garrett (Outsiders); with Frank Watson (Outsiders), Rob Monk (Mooragh Lakers) and Matthew Keggen (Jacks Off) close behind all with an average of 20 points or more.

No midweek round robin due to the weather, whereas a session on Sunday saw 25 compete in two groups.

Emerging as winners of the triples were Lil Smith, Marg Tasker and Tricia Bull, with second spot occupied by Stefan Kelly, Ed Carlyle and Derek Allen.

The doubles jacks gang was settled in the final game when Alan Moore and Lynda Wilson won ahead of Steve Moore and Lynda Cadamy.