Not so unlucky 13 for Seven-Up

Just a few days after getting back on track, along came another extremely wet Saturday, which put paid to a set of fixtures in the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling Club.

Things weren’t much better the following day either, with strong winds and heavy rain which arrived about three quarters of the way through, but not before leaders Seven-Up notched up their fourth and the season’s 13th maximum.

This was achieved against Bowl Rollers who themselves struggled to a total of 87.

Also in action were bottom team Castletown Cannons and a team on the up – Erin Porters.

Cannons couldn’t manage to reach their average and finished on just 81, whereas Porters dropped only one chalk as they hit their highest score of the campaign, and moved up another place in the table.

Bowl Rollers recovered from their earlier loss and were just two points away from recording their first full house, when they inflicted a second heavy defeat on opponents Cannons.

However the biggest surprise of the day was yet to come, as the top team Seven-Up lost for only the second time when Erin Porters beat them by seven points and in turn the leader’s average dropped a little.

This result will give second placed Mean Machine a bit of hope, as they were one of the teams who did not get a game on Saturday and will try again this weekend to bridge that gap – unless the weather has other ideas.

Porters meanwhile may have left it a little bit late to break into the top four as they have only one session remaining, but will fight to the end to hang onto fifth spot.

Results for Sunday, February 7: Seven-Up 126 (6) Bowl Rollers 87 (0), Castletown Cannons 81 (1) Erin Porters 125 (5), Erin Porters 109 (3) Seven-Up 102 (3), Bowl Rollers 124 (5) Castletown Cannons 74 (1).

Triples was the order of the day as 33 entrants took part in the midweek round robin and Doug Allan, along with Lynda and Jeff Wilson from the Govags were partnered together to win their group ahead of David Galbraith, Derek Allen and Erwin Gelling.

It was all about the girls in the other section as Philippa Taylor, Joy Stephens and Dot Mylchreest were the victors, just ahead of Jean Thackrah, Roma Ware and Tricia Bull.