Mini Cup Win for Ballaugh B

On Wednesday the Mini Cup Final which is for teams in the League Two of Men’s Over 60’s Bowls took place at Marown between Finch Hill A and Ballaugh B.

In the first half of the match Finch Hill A drew the first blood with Paul Dougherty beating Ray Griffin 21-9 but Gordy Moore hit back immediately to beat Dave Jones 21-17. We then saw Ballaugh’s Wilfred Waggett lose 13-21 to John Qualtrough and after the first four games were completed the score was two games each with John Maddrell beating Finch Hill’s John Harris 21-12.

In the second half of the match we saw a titanic struggle between Ballaugh’s Barry McDonald and Tony Epifani which ended with McDonald winning 21-20. The next game saw Ballaugh Captain John Keenan play superbly to beat Les Brookes 21-3 and after being behind Gary Griffiths fought back to beat Dave Dixon of Finch Hill 21-20 giving the Ballaugh men the five games that they needed. The excitement was still not over however as in the last game Tom Waterworth of Ballaugh who is in his first full season of bowls looked down and out but he fought back to eventually go down 21-20 to Brian Murphy.

The Chairman of the Over 60’s Bowling League Norman Kneen thanked Marown for hosting the competition and Terry Bates for acting as Referee and Competition Secretary Mark Kelly for running the match before introducing Neil Withers to present the awards.