Lakers beat the Meanies

Three of the top four sides were in action on Saturday in a set of fixtures postponed a few weeks earlier as the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling Club made it to their festive break.

Third placed Mooragh Lakers were the team in form as they notched up two great victories, firstly overcoming fourth placed Louie’s Angels with a 23 point margin and dropping just four themselves in the process.

Table toppers Mean Machine were also in the group and they were not handing out any early Christmas gifts when recording the season’s tenth maximum at Bits n Bobs expense.

As the very windy conditions continued, Bits did fare a little better in their second outing and scored just over 100 points against an Angels side who slip back away from the top three.

The final outcome brought an end to a few unbeaten runs, as Lakers inflicted a first defeat of the campaign on Mean Machine with a two point success, which cements their hold on third spot, just 20 behind the leaders, with Seven-Up sandwiched between them.

This fixture also saw two previously unbeaten players lose their games, which just leaves 2005 and 2013 merit winner, Glynn Hargraves (Mean Machine) as the last one with a 100 per cent record, more on this in next week’s report.

Results for Saturday, December 19: Mean Machine 126 (6) Bits n Bobs 84 (0), Louie’s Angels 99 (2) Mooragh Lakers 122 (4), Bits n Bobs 102 (2) Louie’s Angels 114 (4), Mooragh Lakers 112 (3) Mean Machine 110 (3).

Two round robins were held either side of the league games, on Wednesday, 26 played in groups of doubles with the victors being Philippa Taylor and Bert Quayle, along with Terry Bates and Alec Taylor.

Runners-up being Derek Clarke and Jean Thackrah, also Mike Ware and Steve Moore, while in third spots were Gordon Corrin and Tricia Bull, Rob Cowley and Peter Karran.

The Christmas tombola round robin session on Sunday saw Steve Moore and Ken Karran win one section just ahead of Alec Taylor and Ken Clarke, while in the black jack gang it was Steve Parker and Derek Allen who came out on top, just pipping Terry Moore and Peter Karran.