Jayne Smith no longer a Non-Winner

The ladies section kick started the 2023 season by holding the Hands Trophy Non-Winners competition at Port Erin. With a good entry of 24 the format decided upon was a straight knockout. The standard of bowls was really high even after the six month break. The diversity in ages was also good to see with the oldest player, Rita Callister, playing the youngest player, Grayse Blencoe, proving this sport is for everyone.
Quarter-finals saw Jayne Smith beat Tina Hampson 21-9, Lynda Wilson beat Libby Andrade 21-11, Jo Corkill beat Tracy Moore 21-10 and Sylvia Kennaugh beat Marilyn Ellison 21-16. In the semi-finals Jayne put an end Lynda’s winning streak 21-18 and Sylvia to Jo’s 21-18.
The final was a game of two halves with Jayne running away with it to be 19-9 in front. Sylvia then regained the jack to come back to only two points behind at 19-17. The last end was a show piece with Sylvia lying on for one Jayne took the jack with the last bowl of the end to secure the elusive two points required to take the title and her first open competition win. The irony of this is she is no longer a Non-Winner. Congratulations Jayne. The presentation was made by the competition secretary and a very proud mum, Chris Holland, who thanked those who stayed until the end, Port Erin for the use of the green and the catering. Great start to the year. Good luck to all.