Breakers rule with two maximums

Just one set of fixtures took place over the weekend in the Manx Petroleum sponsored Outdoor Winter League Bowling Club after Saturday’s session was washed out, but the following day Breakers ruled supreme once again and notched up maximum points.

Those due to participate did show up for the first session, but it was decided by the captains and players to postpone the fixtures due to the inclement weather, these games will now be played on Sunday 23 November.

At kick-off time on Sunday things weren’t much better as a heavy shower of rain didn’t help matters, especially with an already soaking wet playing surface, but eventually the sun shone as did Rule Breakers.

Firstly they beat Parkers by a margin of 39, before defeating Erin Porters with a gap of 55. Those two scores mean that Breakers have scored maximums in 50% of their fixtures, notching up 503 out of a possible 504 points over the past two weekends – but they still trail Seven-Up on average points.

Castletown Corkers also handled the conditions better than their opponents and they recorded two victories, both 4-2 on games. First up they beat Porters; then were successful against Parkers, both losing teams slipped down the table.

The league leaders meanwhile have an average of 121 and the nearest challengers are on 119.4; following the top two are Louie’s Angels on 113.7 and Corkers holding on to fourth with 110.8. More details can be found on

Results for Sunday 9 November: Parkers 87 (0) Peter Karran, Rule Breakers 126 (6) Glynn Hargraves; Erin Porters 93 (2) Mavis Franks, Castletown Corkers 111 (4) Dave Hollingworth; Breakers 126 (6) Alan Moore, Porters 71 (0) Mavis Franks; Corkers 110 (4) Lyn and Sid Bolton, Parkers 96 (2) Jo Smith.

In contrast the midweek round robin session had perfect weather with the 39 entrants being split into two groups of triples. Winners of the black jacks were Bob Berry, Jean Thackrah and Pauline Worrall; while in second it was Elaine McElroy, John Lightfoot and Peter Kelly.

The yellow section was decided by a roll-up after just two points separated the top four. Eventually taking the honours were Jo Smith, Steve Moore and Doug Allan, who just sneaked it ahead of Bob Daggett, Les Halsall and Alec Taylor.