Temporaza & Kennish Win Keenan 4’s

On Saturday Ballaugh Bowling Club held the 32nd Keenan 4’s which was first played for in 1989. There were 35 pairs entered, the weather being fine starting cloudy but improved throughout the day.

In the top half of the draw the first quarter final was an all South Ramsey affair with Alan Moore and Glynn Hargraves taking on Stefan Kelly and Stuart Marshall. A tight game at 17 across after 13 ends Alan and Glynn sealed the win 21-18. The second quarter final was between Bob Clark (Castletown) and David Bradford (South Ramsey) versus Marown stalwarts Paul Dunn and Neil Withers 16 across after 17 ends, then Clark and Bradford won the game 21-16.

In the bottom half of the draw the third quarter final was between visitors Andrew White and Colin Crawford (Two Gates) and Glenn Moore and Tony Smart (North Ramsey). White and Crawford showed their class with a 21-10 win. The final quarter final was between home greeners John Keenan and John Maddrell against Andy Kennish (Peel Sunset) and Reg Temporaza (Onchan). Kennish and Temporaza were always ahead winning 21-12.

In the semi-finals Moore and Hargraves beat Clark and Bradford 21-15, whilst Kennish and Temporaza beat White and Clark 21-16.

In the final Kennish and Temporaza took the first four ends without reply from Moore and Hargraves giving them a buffer to win 21-13.

At the conclusion Club Captain John Maddrell thanked John Keenan for sponsoring the event for the 32nd year, Matt Moffat, the green keeper for preparing the green, Pat Mason and her team of ladies for the catering. John also thanked Richard Faragher, Maurice O’Reilly & Trevor Jones for running the competition so efficiently.